Delays to British Citizenship

Hi Guys,

As some of you may already know, the Home Office has reported quite a large back-log of British Citizenship applications. The Home Office nationality team is currently experiencing an increase in applications and have reported that there may be a delay in processing British Citizenship Applications.

The Home Office are working to reduce these British Citizenship backlogs and minimise delays and have recommended that in order to provide the best possible service and reduce backlogs as quickly as possible, please do not contact them to check the progress of your application within the average processing times.

The Home Office will continue to update British Citizenship applicants and advise them to check the Home Office waiting times page for up-to-date information.

One Response to Delays to British Citizenship

  1. Paul says:

    I was hoping that I would have my citizenship by now as I applied over 3 months ago and 90% were taking less than 3 months back then. I have been informed that it will now take around 7 months which is annoying but such is life.
    I was planning on taking two or three months off to go and travel Europe over the summer. If I quite my job and travel for 2 months will my citizenship be delayed even longer, or wil it not effect it?

    Regards
    Paul

Leave a comment